In 1799, shortly after the Town of Farmington was incorporated (1794), a small group of residents organized a Social Library which circulated books until disbanding in 1856. There followed a few unsuccessful efforts at forming a library, and in 1890 the current Farmington Public Library Association was incorporated and is continuing to serve the community and the region.
In 2000 building renovations including a lobby addition was completed. The addition compliments the original building by its unique design and use of materials. Design and planning was done by Richard Burt of Richard Burt Architects.
It is worth noting the importance that Farmington residents place on maintaining their library. There have been only twenty years in the Town's history when residents have been without library services.